Stuff I Learned the Hard Way – Sometimes a Zombie is Just a Zombie

WHAT’S PLAYING: Tim McGrawJust to See You Smile

I’m afraid of zombies. I mean, crap your pants while gibbering in terror afraid. (I know it’s completely irrational. I never claimed to be sane.) My friend gave me a book of zombie haiku, and it gave me nightmares. And zombie movies? Forget about it. I slept with my katana for weeks. 

 

My therapist says that my aversion to the walking dead stems from a fear of losing my faculties to insanity or senility. I say it comes from not wanting some brain-munching bastard to take a chunk out of me while I’m still alive and screaming.

I suppose the whole fear of losing my mind idea has merit.  

But I’m still sleeping with my katana.

8 comments on “Stuff I Learned the Hard Way – Sometimes a Zombie is Just a Zombie

  1. Jill Archer says:

    Can’t wait to read your review of Pay Me In Flesh. I’m intrigued!

    • I’m trying partial immersion therapy to overcome my fear of zombies. I’m still too much of a wimp for the movies, but I figure a book with a zombie protagonist was a step in the right direction.

  2. A book of zombie haiku? The mind boggles.

    I don’t share your fear, but I can entirely relate in that I’m terrified of porcelain dolls. I’m convinced they’ll come alive and walk around after me *shudder*

    • Yes. It’s called Zombie Haiku: Good Poetry for Your…Brains by Ryan Mecum. It’s brief, funny, and brilliant. I read it in about an hour, laughed my ass off, and then woke up screaming in the middle of the night.

      Irrational fears are the worst. Not only do you have to put up with the phobia itself, but also the flack that comes with it. (BTW-I’m right there with you when it comes to those creepy ass dolls.) 🙂

  3. zombiejoe says:

    Um… boo. 😉

Leave a comment